The conclusion of the first class of our semester (Art_design-Society course) left us with an interesting assignment (yay! :p) where we were asked to see (not look) at the surroundings of our institute to identify the overlooked problems and potential design interventions.
Random and arbitrary at first, the exercise soon got my interest the moment I stepped on the field with a different perspective. Trees, signboards, buildings, playground, classes, and about anything and everything seemed different (remember- I was seeing and not looking) than ever. And in no time, problems after problems seemed to emerge from the things that were right under our nose for the past 2.5 years.

I decided to zero on to 2-3 problems I personally experienced some time or the other (thumbs up to personal experience). My teammates also had their ‘seeing’ glasses on and we helped each other with the potential and probable design interventions. Some quick sketches were made (although they are too bad, but I’m still proud of them) and voila! We have a solution to some wicked problems.
One of my problems was the cavity between the roads which usually caused trouble to the bicycle riders. Similarly, signboard design was also taken into considerations. The 2d arrows often caused confusion (at least for me, it did). So why not design the arrow shapes that resemble the perspective view of the road itself. It’s like replicating the road in the form of an arrow for greater similarity. Or maybe should I change the whole signboard as we know it today? There is so much to explore in things we hardly look at. Both these problems are so common, that usually it gets ignored by 99.9% of the people and the reason was given  – ‘We got used to it’, which itself is a flaw. Some quick sketches I drew are shown below.

new-doc-25_2

 

One other thing that intrigued me, was the design and placement of the institute bus stands. No one uses it, not even the bus drivers to stop their buses! Strange? Not so much. I mean, just look at them below.

IMG_20170111_163154.jpg

Why would anyone want to sit there? No information, uncomfortable seating, dirty and chaotic surroundings, and what not. This calls for a systems approach to thinking (Thank God we have a course this semester on systems approach. Yay no. 2 :p) where intervention only in the design of the bus stand wouldn’t fetch any significant result but inquiring as to how the whole bus system within the institute works would result in some meaningful insights.
I’ll keep updating my design thoughts and further progress on these problems as I move on with them. So stay connected for this sinusoidal design journey I’m going through in my Art-Design-Society course.
Peace 🙂

